Halos and Hawks

Something shifted earlier this week. And I’m not talking about the ground under me from the 5.0 earthquake we recently experienced here in El Salvador. I had just finished walking the dog when I saw the shadow of their expansive wings on the ground. “Oh no! The hawks are back!” Frantically, I searched for rocks to throw at them to scare them away and protect our young chicks. But as I launched them into the air, a sight so rare and so beautiful caught my attention-a rainbow halo around the sun with two hawks flying overhead. To me, this was no ordinary event, this was a spiritual message. The following morning, I saw two other hawks flying high above the sky, but instead of panic, I felt a peace and a deep respect for their beauty and grace. In many cultures, rainbows are said to be messages of peace and harmony and the hawks represent intuition, spiritual awareness, focus, and vision. Perhaps the Universe was reminding me to trust my intuition as I continue in this new chapter of my life and allow the principles of peace and harmony to guide me in my endeavors. It could also be reminding me to focus on completing the special project I have started.

Earlier this year, after learning that come June, I would no longer be the garden teacher at the farm as a result of funding loss, I decided to take some time off from teaching to travel and work on this creative endeavor. In June, I took another leap of faith, left my apartment in Hawaii, and traveled to India for three weeks, then returned to New York for the summer, and in mid-September, I flew to El Salvador, my birthplace and also the setting for the creative endeavor I am working on.

So here I am back at my grandparents’ farm in El Salvador, cherishing the moments I am spending with them, and experiencing life here from a fresh perspective. And always being thankful for and open to the messages from the Universe.

 

About Magaly L.

Five Facts About Me: 1. I was born in El Salvador, grew up in NY, and after being in the United States for almost 33 years, I finally became a citizen in 2013. I was super excited when I voted for the first time! 2. My personal favorites: chocolate, desserts, dancing, the beach, leisure travel, reading, juicing, gardening, cooking, spending time with family, and writing. I really do love chocolate. I prefer dark chocolate, but any chocolate is better than none. I also love red velvet cupcakes from my favorite bakery in NYC, Two Little Red Hens on the Upper East Side. And I love spending time in nature. There's something so peaceful about listening to the birds or listening to the waves break, that centers me in the present moment and reminds me that Divine order is at work in my life. 3. I come from a large family and I love it! My parents, two brothers, one sister, LOTS of cousins, aunts, uncles, abuelos, and my "gotitas de amor"-my nieces and nephews. 4. I am an educator both by training and at heart. 5. I have been living with PNES (psychogenic non-epileptic seizures) since 2007. Though this condition has been life-altering and challenging to live with at times, it has also led me to a more fulfilling life, strengthening my faith and helping me have the courage to pursue my passions and chase a couple of dreams.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

