A Magical Morning

It was one of those mornings where I felt truly connected to my Divine purpose. The kindergarteners, fascinated by the beetles they found on the corn yesterday while learning about pollination, arrived early this morning to help me hand pick these garden pests and drop them in a bucket of soapy water. Some were hesitant to pick off the beetles at first, but when I placed the beetles in their hands and showed them what it would feel like, they quickly got over their fear, and emerged from the corn field enthusiastic and eager to show off their catch. The morning continued in their garden, where they transplanted flower seedlings and weeded the daikon and carrot beds. One of the rituals we do at the farm is to say good night to the seeds and seedlings. We teach the children that plants are living and that in addition to water, sunlight, and air, plants need love too. One little boy’s gentle affection towards his plant, caught my attention. “I love you okay,” he said. “You are special. I love you baby plant.” It warmed my heart to see this, especially because I saw this same little boy yesterday afternoon having a meltdown, crying and arguing with his older sibling on his walk home from school. And this experience along with other experiences this week, reminded me that I don’t always know what is happening in people’s lives, but that small acts of kindness can make a difference in their lives. And I found that it makes a difference in my life too-expanding my experience of peace, hope, love, and healing. We ended this magical morning with freshly prepared lime mint honey slushies and hugs.

Friends, I needed this to remind me of the beautiful experiences life has to offer and to shift my focus away from the physical pain and frustration of having hurt my back again to seeking out opportunities to serve with love. Two months from today, I am scheduled to fly out of Hawai’i for a six month travel journey in my next leap of faith. I am experiencing a lot of uncertainty in my life right now, but surrendering to fear and frustration is not an option. The following quote from Day 3 of Unity’s Fearless Living: 30 days of Focused Prayer (fearlessliving.today) fed my faith perfectly today:

“Life … is a journey into the unknown where change is constant. The challenge is to pay attention, heal what needs healing, and grieve what we’ve lost as a testimony to how precious it has been. Staying faithful to the certainty that we live in a spiritually meaningful reality, we are called by change to authentic trust and surrender. Answering that call, we live in peace, joy, and service right now in this beautiful and holy world.”

May this quote feed your faith too friends and may you find healing in serving others with love.

Hugs and love,
Magaly

About Magaly L.

Five Facts About Me: 1. I was born in El Salvador, grew up in NY, and after being in the United States for almost 33 years, I finally became a citizen in 2013. I was super excited when I voted for the first time! 2. My personal favorites: chocolate, desserts, dancing, the beach, leisure travel, reading, juicing, gardening, cooking, spending time with family, and writing. I really do love chocolate. I prefer dark chocolate, but any chocolate is better than none. I also love red velvet cupcakes from my favorite bakery in NYC, Two Little Red Hens on the Upper East Side. And I love spending time in nature. There's something so peaceful about listening to the birds or listening to the waves break, that centers me in the present moment and reminds me that Divine order is at work in my life. 3. I come from a large family and I love it! My parents, two brothers, one sister, LOTS of cousins, aunts, uncles, abuelos, and my "gotitas de amor"-my nieces and nephews. 4. I am an educator both by training and at heart. 5. I have been living with PNES (psychogenic non-epileptic seizures) since 2007. Though this condition has been life-altering and challenging to live with at times, it has also led me to a more fulfilling life, strengthening my faith and helping me have the courage to pursue my passions and chase a couple of dreams.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

