From dream to reality, just like we knew it would…

One of my favorite books to read with children when I worked in child care was The Carrot Seed by Ruth Krauss. This book is special to me because of it’s simple yet profound message. A little boy plants a carrot seed and everyday he tends to it, watering it and pulling up the weeds around it.  Despite the discouraging words from those around him and no visible clues that his carrot was growing, he kept the faith and continued to care for it. And eventually, the carrot seed he planted did grow and he harvested a carrot! Here’s a YouTube link for a read aloud of the story:

We can apply this same principle to our lives. Even when our dreams and heart’s desires have not yet fully manifested in our lives, it does not mean that we completely lose hope and quit. Instead, we continue to feed our faith through our thoughts, words, and actions.

Friends, let me share with you a few examples from my life, one as recent as last week. Ever since my arrival in Hawai’i, I have been searching for a new apartment. Despite informing potential landlords that I had the first month’s rent and security deposit, they were reluctant to offer me the apartment without proof of income. “But you don’t have a job,” they would say. “Yes, right now I do not have a job, but I know soon I will have a job.” Well friends, I am happy to share with you all that after several months of looking for work, I was offered and I accepted, the garden teacher position at the farm I spoke about in a previous entry. Plus, I have a very strong housing lead.

Another example has to do with the seizures. When I first began experiencing seizures, there were times that I would have 6-8 per day. My family was afraid to leave me alone at home and I was unable to work due to their frequency. But deep in my heart, I believed I would be healed and that my experience could help someone else. And so I sought out a network of doctors, therapists, and friends and family that would support the healing process and I began to take better care of myself. Has the healing process always been linear and easy? No, there have been relapses and moments of frustration and despair, but always something within, which many call the Universal life force or God, has sustained me and filled me with hope to keep moving forward. And I believe, that as I continue to affirm my wholeness and well-being and tap into my body’s innate healing ability and listen to my inner wisdom, I will experience even more vibrant health.

Friends, let’s continue to nurture our dreams and eventually, our dreams will become a reality, just like we knew they would…

About Magaly L.

Five Facts About Me: 1. I was born in El Salvador, grew up in NY, and after being in the United States for almost 33 years, I finally became a citizen in 2013. I was super excited when I voted for the first time! 2. My personal favorites: chocolate, desserts, dancing, the beach, leisure travel, reading, juicing, gardening, cooking, spending time with family, and writing. I really do love chocolate. I prefer dark chocolate, but any chocolate is better than none. I also love red velvet cupcakes from my favorite bakery in NYC, Two Little Red Hens on the Upper East Side. And I love spending time in nature. There's something so peaceful about listening to the birds or listening to the waves break, that centers me in the present moment and reminds me that Divine order is at work in my life. 3. I come from a large family and I love it! My parents, two brothers, one sister, LOTS of cousins, aunts, uncles, abuelos, and my "gotitas de amor"-my nieces and nephews. 4. I am an educator both by training and at heart. 5. I have been living with PNES (psychogenic non-epileptic seizures) since 2007. Though this condition has been life-altering and challenging to live with at times, it has also led me to a more fulfilling life, strengthening my faith and helping me have the courage to pursue my passions and chase a couple of dreams.
Aside | This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

