Lomi lomi and letting go

I heard, “he gives great massages.” Yes, I’m interested! Please send me his contact info. Shortly after, I booked an appointment with R for this evening. I had planned my day around this-avoided caffeine and wine, went for a run/walk, ate a couple of hours beforehand, and showered an hour before his scheduled arrival time.

I was expecting a regular massage, but apparently this type of massage is more than just relaxing your muscles and working out the knots. R. informed me later in the session that this type of massage is called Lomi lomi. The cells in our bodies can hold onto stress, trauma, and injury long after the incident occurs. Lomi lomi means massage in Hawaiian, but this type of massage is more “intuitive” than your typical massage and focuses on restoring balance and harmony in the body. I remember during the massage R. kept mentioning letting go and freeing ourselves from the past and not struggling so much. If we are following our passions, and it is where we are supposed to be, then things will unfold with ease and we will be energized through our work. I chuckled and said, “True, but sometimes ego gets in the way and we want to prove to ourselves that we can do something.” You could definitely tell R. is passionate about his work. 

After he left, I decided to listen to one of the Chopra Center’s free online guided meditations called “Letting Go of Pain.” I figured this would be a good follow up to the massage. I was laying in bed, completely relaxed, listening to the guided meditation, when an image formed of who I needed to forgive and release. I was surprised. Though I had been deeply disappointed in the actions of this person, I didn’t think I was still holding a grudge against him but I forgave him anyways and set him free. I felt a sense of peace after.

I texted R. to share with him what had occurred and he shared a very touching forgiveness story of his own.

I set this intention a few days ago: I take good care of myself and make choices that are in harmony with my body and my well being. Forgiveness and letting go is a choice I make. The past no longer holds me back. I love what the teacher says towards the end of the meditation: “We are capable of making new choices that can improve our situation and move us forward. We have the ability to respond in creative ways for something new to emerge, for healing to unfold.”

May you experience harmony, loving relationships, and the healing that comes from forgiveness and letting go. 

Here is the link to the Chopra center guided meditations: 

http://www.chopra.com/community/online-library/guided-meditations 

About Magaly L.

Five Facts About Me: 1. I was born in El Salvador, grew up in NY, and after being in the United States for almost 33 years, I finally became a citizen in 2013. I was super excited when I voted for the first time! 2. My personal favorites: chocolate, desserts, dancing, the beach, leisure travel, reading, juicing, gardening, cooking, spending time with family, and writing. I really do love chocolate. I prefer dark chocolate, but any chocolate is better than none. I also love red velvet cupcakes from my favorite bakery in NYC, Two Little Red Hens on the Upper East Side. And I love spending time in nature. There's something so peaceful about listening to the birds or listening to the waves break, that centers me in the present moment and reminds me that Divine order is at work in my life. 3. I come from a large family and I love it! My parents, two brothers, one sister, LOTS of cousins, aunts, uncles, abuelos, and my "gotitas de amor"-my nieces and nephews. 4. I am an educator both by training and at heart. 5. I have been living with PNES (psychogenic non-epileptic seizures) since 2007. Though this condition has been life-altering and challenging to live with at times, it has also led me to a more fulfilling life, strengthening my faith and helping me have the courage to pursue my passions and chase a couple of dreams.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

