Quantum Success and Soup

Today was the last day of a four week spiritual enrichment course that I’ve been attending at the Unity Church of Hawaii titled, Quantum Success. It is based on the book, Quantum Success by Bobbi DePorter.

I had been in Hawaii for three weeks already and was beginning to get a sense that if I am to evolve in the direction that is most in line with my heart’s desires, I would need to examine and perhaps change, deeply held thought patterns and behaviors. The course sounded interesting and it was offered as a practicum, so love offerings in whatever amount were acceptable, but what really caught my attention was the following line: “Do you want to adapt quickly, learn better, and never fear failure again?” I know that it was no coincidence I saw that flyer on the bulletin board four Sundays ago. 

Having completed Oprah and Deepak’s Desire and Destiny meditation series as well as the Chopra Center 8 week Happiness Series, I had already identified my desires. I had several “Aha” moments throughout the course, but it was during this last week that I set specific intentions with confidence, detaching from any specific outcome, and trusting the Universe that they will manifest in my life. It was brought to my attention today from my discussion partner, that the Universe is already manifesting my intentions and that it is up to me to remain aware. Ah, yes, how often do I live in that future mindset, missing out on the present moment miracles and blessings because my present reality does not match what I envisioned. 

In one of the chapters, titled Key Catalyst: Keep your Balance, Bobbi DePorter points out that we won’t always devote equal time to each aspect of our lives, but what is important is that we “give things that matter the amount of time and energy that creates the greatest sense of fulfillment.” Well, one of the activities that I truly enjoy is cooking. I was in need of some nourishing soup and inspired by a can of Goya black beans, I blended two black bean recipes I found on the internet and created this bowl of yummy delicious goodness pictured below. I even narrated what I was doing as though I was on my own cooking show. I’m smiling right now, thinking to myself, “yes reader, you can admit you do this too.”  

Image

Here’s a picture of the delicious and soul nourishing black bean soup I made today.

And this brings me to the question of the day: What things create the greatest sense of fulfillment in your life? How will you be devoting time to these things today?   

With love and gratitude my friends. May you have a wonderful week and be aware of the daily miracles in your life.

About Magaly L.

Five Facts About Me: 1. I was born in El Salvador, grew up in NY, and after being in the United States for almost 33 years, I finally became a citizen in 2013. I was super excited when I voted for the first time! 2. My personal favorites: chocolate, desserts, dancing, the beach, leisure travel, reading, juicing, gardening, cooking, spending time with family, and writing. I really do love chocolate. I prefer dark chocolate, but any chocolate is better than none. I also love red velvet cupcakes from my favorite bakery in NYC, Two Little Red Hens on the Upper East Side. And I love spending time in nature. There's something so peaceful about listening to the birds or listening to the waves break, that centers me in the present moment and reminds me that Divine order is at work in my life. 3. I come from a large family and I love it! My parents, two brothers, one sister, LOTS of cousins, aunts, uncles, abuelos, and my "gotitas de amor"-my nieces and nephews. 4. I am an educator both by training and at heart. 5. I have been living with PNES (psychogenic non-epileptic seizures) since 2007. Though this condition has been life-altering and challenging to live with at times, it has also led me to a more fulfilling life, strengthening my faith and helping me have the courage to pursue my passions and chase a couple of dreams.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

